Clicky

Locale : Chinese (Simplified)
X
1 / 3
Close
side elevation image of Soccer City stadium artists' impression of internal view of cyclists using velodrome image showing new colleagues standing behind MPM's MD and Mott MacDonald's Australia MD shaking hands in Adelaide

我们的传承

我们的长远战略是成为一家全球性的一揽子工程、管理和发展咨询公司,注重系统性的发展和有计划的收购来增加公司的地理分布,扩展我们的服务范围和引进新的专业技术 —— 所有这一切都是为了满足我们世界各地客户的日新月异的需求。

180

180个主要办公室
50
遍及50个国家
16,000
16,000名员工
12
12个核心部门

茂特(莫特麦克唐纳)集团是由两家历史悠久、全球闻名的国际工程咨询公司在1989年合并而成 —— 它们分别是在交通工程领域颇有建树的Mott, Hay & Anderson咨询公司和因从事水工程而闻名的Sir M MacDonald & Partners咨询公司。​

这次里程碑式的合并是我们迈向如今这样一个活力四射和不断演变的组织的一个开端,目前我们在140个国家有180个主要办公室,我们的工作横跨12个核心部门 —— 建筑、通讯、教育、环境、卫生、工业、国际发展、石油和天然气、能源、交通、城市发展和水。

我们迄今为止的发展

我们公司大多数的发展是循序渐进地进行的,一些主要的收购使我们加速发展成为了全世界最国际化和多元化的跨国咨询公司之一。

在这里,我们特别列举了一些在我们的发展过程中扮演了重要角色的一些公司,包括我们2家最新的公司。Habtec Engenharia Ambiental公司使我们在巴西的发展有了强大的基础,南非的PD Naidoo & Associates公司则为我们带来了多领域的业务,帮助我们在非洲撒哈拉以南地区的扩张。

Old black and white photo showing a station on London underground in the early 1900s
Tunnelling pioneers
Close
Tunnelling pioneers Mott, Hay and Anderson started our tradition for innovation and added value with their pioneering work on London’s underground railway in the early 1900s – their reinforced concrete alternative to expensive cast iron tunnel linings was soon exported worldwide

Mott, Hay & Anderson —— 交通

工程师Basil​ Mott和David Hay自1888年一同为城市与南伦敦铁路的项目工作起就一起合作,他们于1902年合作成立了名为Mott & Hay的公司。十九年后,David Anderson先生加入了该公司。

Mott和Hay承袭了2位导师的特点:JH Greathead是当时最好的软土隧道工程师,Benjamin Baker则因伦敦区域铁路和福斯铁路桥而闻名。

Image showing construction work on first heightening of Aswan Dam
Source of water, Egypt
Close
Source of water, Egypt The Aswan Dam and events in Egypt from 1890 to 1930 were a catalyst for the creation of Sir M MacDonald & Partners – laying the foundation for our global business in the water sector.

Sir M MacDonald & Partners ——

Murdoch MacDonald先生曾经以埃及市政工程部的顾问身份密切参与了阿斯旺水坝的开发和首次加高,这标志着一个长期使用水力发电的项目开端。Murdoch先生于1921年六月从埃及政府服务部门退休,于55岁回到了英国,随即和Archibald MacCorquodale开始合办企业。

PH East(他也曾在19071926年间作为一名工程师服务埃及政府服务部门)和OL Prowde1927年一月份成为了Sir Murdoch MacDonald的经营伙伴,标志着一个新时代的开始。该公司的名称后来改成Sir M MacDonald & Partners,并且开始了一些大型的新项目,包括阿斯旺水坝的第二次加高以及之后的项目设计和施工阶段,直至1933年。

external view of Paka power station with palm fronds in foreground
Milestones in power
Close
Milestones in power Our reputation as one of the foremost consultancies in today’s global energy market is built on leading roles in many of the world’s milestone projects, such as Malaysia’s Paka 900MW combined cycle power station, the largest of its kind outside the USA when completed in the late 1980s.

Ewbank Preece —— 能源和通讯

1994年,Ewbank Preece公司的加入使我们集团在能源和通信领域的能力提升到了一个新的高度。该公司起源于1893年,当时Arthur Henry创办了能源和通信的专门公司 —— Preece Cardew & Rider,后来他的父亲William Preece先生(邮政总局的总工程师)、Major Phillip Cardew(贸易委员会的电气顾问)也纷纷加入了该公司,之后John Hall Rider(电气工程师)也于1915年加入公司。


Ewbank & Partners有限公司是CHP Ewbank公司和一些来自Edmundsons公司的志趣相投的同僚于1946年在英国供电业国有化时期成立的。

这两家公司于1983年合并成立Ewbank Preece,是英国发电、输电和配电、海水淡化和通信领域权威的专业咨询公司之一。

external night view of Grand Central Station in New York
East Side Access, New York
Close
East Side Access, New York Hatch Mott MacDonald is one of America’s top engineering firms, demonstrated by our programme manager role on the US$7.3bn East Side Access rail project linking Queens to Manhattan’s Grand Central Terminal for New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority.

Hatch Mott MacDonald —— 北美

为了更好的服务北美繁荣的交通运输市场,我们和加拿大的Hatch Associates于1996年成立了一家名为Hatch Mott MacDonald的合资企业,我们曾在20世纪50年代在多伦多地铁项目一起合作过。这家新公司接管了我们在北美共同的隧道和交通业务。

2001年,Hath Mott MacDonald收购了Killam集团,该集团是美国东部最重要的基建和工程咨询公司之一,由此也拓展了我们在水和环境领域所提供的服务。

如今,Hatch Mott MacDonald提供规划和设计服务以及工程和建设管理服务,服务涵盖了美国、加拿大和墨西哥的交通、隧道、水、废水和环境管理的各个方面。

在过去的十年间,一些其它的公司也纷纷加入了Hatch Mott MacDonald公司,为我们提供或强化了一些技术,并且帮助我们扩大了地理覆盖范围。

image of schoolgirls conducting science experiment in classroom
Improving standards in London's schools
Close
Improving standards in London's schools In 2002 Cambridge Education took over responsibility for education delivery and improvement of more than 150 facilities in the London Borough of Islington – our approach transformed educational attainment, with results improving faster than national improvement levels.

剑桥教育

​1985年,Sir M MacDonald & Partners 和剑桥大学共同成立了剑桥教育咨询(CEC)。CEC旨在在世界范围内支持教育事业的发展,提供最高质量的教育咨询服务。


许多年来,CEC和剑桥教育协会(CEA)在许多项目上保持着紧密的联系。特别是在英国,CEA曾是英国教育标准局视察项目最大的承包商,同时也是为本地教育机构和学校提供咨询和过渡管理服务的主要提供商。2000年,CEA正式加入了我们集团,标志着一个全新时代的开始。如今,我们的教育业务以剑桥教育闻名。

artist's impression showing external view of elevated metro station
基建专长
Close
基建专长 地铁是我们在印度的主要强项之一。在不断参与了德里地铁开发项目十多年之后,我们现在正将我们在这方面的专长带到了印度其它城市的地铁系统项目中去。截至2013年,我们在包括Hyderabad市(见插图)在内的总共8个城市为6个地铁站提供详细设计。

Dalal 咨询公司 —— 印度

​​Dalal咨询公司于2001年加入茂特(莫特麦克唐纳)集团,此举是为了在印度广阔的市场中扩展我们在工业、多学科及社会部门的能力。在当时,Dalal已经成长成为印度最大的管理和工程咨询公司之一,拥有750名员工专门从事基建、工业和社会部门发展。​

Dalal咨询公司于1970年在Ahmedabad开始经营业务,它为工业部门的私人投资者和国有工业发展公司提供投资前的咨询服务。在经历了快速发展的20年后,当印度市场开始对私营部门开放后,Dalal开始了其多样化经营,包括水资源管理、交通和综合基础设施发展。

view showing front of train on East London Line
East London landmark
Close
East London landmark Our construction economists Franklin + Andrews first became involved in Transport for London’s East London Line in 1998, its initial cost estimating and risk management role for phase one of the £1bn programme growing substantially to cover full commercial management services as part of TfL’s team.

Franklin + Andrews —— 造价咨询公司

2002年,领先的造价咨询公司Franklin + Andrews加入了集团,由此加强了我们在管理咨询、工程管理和商业管理方面的业务能力。

该公司于1866年由测量和建筑专家Thomas Franklin和John Andrews共同成立。它是加入茂特(莫特麦克唐纳)集团最久的公司。该公司在英国、欧洲、非洲和亚太地区有650名员工,给我们带来了各个方面的专业咨询专家,包括有合同战略、供应链管理、建设造价数据、标杆管理、合同咨询服务以及建筑、交通、公用事业和能源领域的项目融资专业知识。

view of pharmacist packing medical supplies into boxes
实现重要的改变
Close
实现重要的改变 通过对AusAID (澳大利亚国际发展署资助的艾滋病毒/艾滋病亚洲区域项目)的技术支持部门进行五年管理,我们专业的卫生咨询公司HLSP帮助制定了降低毒品相关的疾病传染的战略——这只是我们在努力改善世界卫生的众多项目之一。

HLSP —— 卫生

进军卫生事业领域是我们长久以来的抱负之一。2003年,HLSP加入了我们集团,使我们实现了这一抱负。HLSP是一家专注于改善世界卫生状况,提供技术援助、咨询和项目管理的国际机构。


HLSP成立于1985年,为包括“抗击艾滋病、结核病和疟疾全球基金”组织在内的政府、国际机构、非政府组织等工作。它主要的专业领域包括机构的改革和强化、部门融资和服务规划、造价和交付、传染病控制、药物管理计划、临床疗效和包括应对HIV和AIDS在内的性健康战略。HLSP

2005年,我们创办了HLSP学院,提供政策分析、培训和应用研究等服务以传达全球卫生事业、国家卫生系统和应对HIV和AIDS的信息。

image of project team member collecting seed from local agricultural worker
Sustainability in action
Close
Sustainability in action Euroconsult Mott MacDonald’s award-winning work to reverse erosion of the Eurasian steppe involved changing land management practices, restoring biodiversity and ecological balance, increasing productivity and providing new sources of employment and income.

Euroconsult  BMB —— 国际发展

​​2007年,在多年的合作之后,我们打造了国际环境咨询顾问Euroconsult和它的管理咨询同盟机构BMB。它们之前都隶属于ARCADIS集团。这次自然的并购使我们离增加环境市场份额和加强我们为国际发展提供服务的战略目标又近了一步。​

由于有之前在发展中国家和转型经济体中工作运营的经验,这两家咨询公司的加入带来了涵盖陆地和水、农村发展和环保以及涉及公共、私营和社会部门机构发展的管理咨询服务的专业知识。

internal view of school communal area
Agenda setting
Close
Agenda setting Fulcrum has pioneered many firsts in low energy solutions – such as its design for Westway Beacons school which incorporated the first UK application of aquifer thermal energy storage

Fulcrum Consulting —— 建筑

Fulcrum Consulting 于2009年加入了茂特(莫特麦克唐纳)集团,由此扩大了集团的建筑设计服务领域,特别是可持续发展领域。

总部设在伦敦的Fulcrum公司,作为英国领先的建筑和建筑环境方面的可持续能源解决方案的供应商,曾获得过行业和政府层面的认可。这家公司是英国绿色建筑委员会的创始成员之一,曾担任英国政府的高端顾问,帮助其完成一系列的项目工作,包括派遣若干专门从事低碳住宅开发的政策分析师。

view of electricity pylon and substation
Powerful presence
Close
Powerful presence Merz and McLellan brought us widely respected credentials in all power engineering disciplines and a long association with South Africa’s electricity industry.

Merz and McLellan —— 能源

南非和博茨瓦纳能源咨询公司Merz and McLellan于2010年加入我们集团以帮助我们在非洲的能源咨询市场扩大我们的影响力,并且使我们能够提供强大的本地和国际资源相结合的服务以满足该地区未来30年的能源基础设施的投资需求。​

Merz and McLellan最初于1910年进入该地区,它的创建者们曾经在南非的国家电力供应公共设施Eskom的创建中起了不小的作用。如今,我们在约翰内斯堡和哈勃罗内的能源小组提供包括输电和配电部门、所有类型的可再生能源、火力发电、电气和机械检查以及核能等的工程服务。

aerial view of Adelaide Cricket Ground
Winning combination
Close
Winning combination Building on the joint strengths of Mortimer Project Management and Hughes Trueman enabled us to win the design management and overall project management for the redevelopment of the world-renowned Adelaide Oval cricket ground.

Hughes Trueman, MPM and AWT —— 澳大利亚和新西兰

​在悉尼和堪培拉设有办公室的咨询机构Hughes Trueman于2010年加入了茂特(莫特麦克唐纳)集团,此举是我们在澳大利亚建立办公室并且以此扩展到整个澳大拉西亚地区的战略的一部分。与此同时,我们在阿德莱德和墨尔本开设了办公室。Hughes Trueman在澳大利亚东南部有着50年的经营历史,为我们带来了横跨新南威尔士州和澳大利亚首都辖区的四个办公室的150名员工,他们主要从事民用基础设施的工作,包括城市发展和公共基础设施(水、排水、雨水、道路)以及建筑和诸如商业、工业、住宅和公共设施建筑的结构、水力和消防设计等服务。

​之后,我们于2011年引入了设在阿德莱德的Mortimer Project Management —— 带来了专门从事房产和施工的专业技术,并且在奥克兰、布里斯班和珀斯设立了更多办公室。 

​​​​​2014年,设于奥克兰和墨尔本的专业水技术和咨询公司AWT加入了我们集团 – 在我们新西兰建筑和交通部门的业务不断发展扩大的基础之上增加了水方面的能力,并增强了我们在澳大利亚水领域的专业技能。这些组成了我们在澳大拉西亚地区拓展我们服务领域的持续战略的一部分。

shot of oil rig against sunset
专业联合
Close
专业联合 Procyon和Mouchel Energy增强了我们在石油和天然气领域从初始构想到技术经济研究、前端和细节设计、升级和优化规划、危害和风险评估、采购、项目管理和工地监管等各个方面的能力。

Mouchel Energy and Procyon —— 石油和天然气

为了拓展我们在石油和天然气领域的资源及专业技术,我们为集团引进了两家专业咨询公司。

Mouchel ​Energy,专门从事天然气和更广泛的能源部门的工程设计工作,于2011年加入我们集团 —— 此举旨在为我们在英国的燃气管道业务打下一个强大的基础,并由此发展且扩大为能让全世界客户受益的卓越服务提供中心。

​Procyon Oil & Gas有限公司于2013年加入集团,增强了我们为国内外客户提供石油和天然气项目上游各个阶段的设计、工艺设计以及建设和运营服务的能力。Procyon多元的产品组合涵盖了所有的工程阶段,其中包括并购支持、尽职调查/独立设计评审、概念筛查/设计、去瓶颈效应分析、设施定义、FEED、细节设计、PMT、工程管理、造价和进度评估、采购、施工管理以及运营支持。​

image of project team member alongside fishing boat writing down details of catch
Multi-sector environmental services
Close
Multi-sector environmental services Habtec majors in economic sectors ranging from energy production, supply and distribution to transportation and offshore exploration, providing a vast diversity of environmental services, from monitoring fish catch landing sites to environmental due diligence

Habtec Engenharia Ambiental —— 巴西

巴西的环境工程咨询公司Habtec Engenharia Ambiental于2013年加入集团,这是我们集团在巴西创建一个区域办公室战略的一部分,以此我们可以提供全方位的茂特(莫特麦克唐纳)服务并且在南美洲扩大业务。

总部设在里约热内卢的Habtec公司主要在能源、采矿以及交通领域运营了二十多年。该公司从事的工程项目包括各种环境影响研究、合规支持、监控工程以及为包括国际能源巨头在内的主要客户提供环境教育计划。

image of Nelson Mandela Bridge illuminated at night
National icon
Close
National icon PDNA was a key player in the consulting team that undertook all design for the landmark Nelson Mandela Bridge on the fringes of Johannesburg Central Business District in South Africa

PD Naidoo & Associates —— 撒哈拉以南非洲地区

2013年,我们收购了南非的工程咨询公司PD Naidoo & Associates,并将该公司的业务和我们撒哈拉以南非洲地区的业务合并起来,以此建立了拥有800名员工的多部门实体,他们分布在南非、博茨瓦纳以及莫桑比克的15个办公中心。

作为一次高度成功的合作关系,此举是我们扩大在该区域从地产和基建、交通和水到工业、采矿和通信等部门的多学科设计、执行以及管理服务等业务的战略的一个重要部分。

1986年成立的PDNA因其在工程和技术解决方案以及国家重大基础设施建设中的贡献而享有显赫的声誉。

icon-arrow-down-smlicon-arrow-left-lrgicon-arrow-left-smlicon-arrow-right-lrgicon-arrow-right-smlicon-arrow-up-smlicon-championsicon-closeicon-downloadicon-educationicon-emailicon-grid-viewicon-languageicon-link-toicon-list-viewicon-locationicon-login-registericon-minusicon-moreicon-phoneicon-plusicon-recently-viewedicon-searchicon hashkey-facts-corner-sashquote-underlinesocial-icon-facebooksocial-icon-googleplussocial-icon-linkedinsocial-icon-twittersocial-share-icon-facebooksocial-share-icon-facebooksocial-share-icon-googleplussocial-share-icon-googleplussocial-share-icon-instagramsocial-share-icon-instagramsocial-share-icon-linkedinsocial-share-icon-linkedinsocial-share-icon-twittersocial-share-icon-twittersocial-share-icon-youtubesocial-share-icon-youtubesina-weiboMM-Shape01-Quote-ViewsMM-Shape03-Quote-LocationsMM-Shape05-Quote-ProjectsMM-Shape12-Quote-SectorsMM-Shape13-Quote-ExpertiseMM-Shape14-Quote-About-UsMM-Shape14-Quote-Careerscheckmarkicon-expand-viewicon-apply-nowmenusphereicon-cookiesicon-legalicon-registered-companiestargetrotate-screenvideo-replay-flatvideo-replayaudio-muteaudio-play

Clicky

Menu
Close
Page Added
Collected
Pages
Create
side elevation image of Soccer City stadium artists' impression of internal view of cyclists using velodrome image showing new colleagues standing behind MPM's MD and Mott MacDonald's Australia MD shaking hands in Adelaide

Our long-term strategy to provide an all-inclusive engineering, management and development consultancy on a global scale features organic growth and planned acquisitions to increase our geographic spread, expand our range of services and introduce new expertise - all geared towards meeting the evolving needs of our customers around the world.

The Mott MacDonald Group was formed in 1989 with the merger of two long-established and well-known international engineering consultancies - Mott, Hay & Anderson, renowned for its contribution to transportation engineering, and Sir M MacDonald & Partners, distinguished by a long tradition of water-related projects.

This landmark union began our progression towards the dynamic and continually evolving organisation we are today, now operating from 170 principal offices with work in 140 countries across 12 core sectors - buildings, communications, education, environment, health, industry, international development, oil and gas, power, transport, urban development and water.

Our journey so far

Much of our growth has been organic, with key acquisitions accelerating our development into one of the world's most diverse multinational, multiskilled consultancies.

Here we highlight some of the companies to have played a key part in our journey so far – including our two newest contributors, Habtec Engenharia Ambiental providing us with a strong base for growth in Brazil, and South Africa’s PD Naidoo & Associates, bringing a multi-sector business to drive our expansion across Sub-Saharan Africa.

Contact us
Fast filter
Related content
Corporate responsibility
Publications

180

principal offices
50
countries
16,000
staff
12
core sectors

Mott, Hay & Anderson - transport

Engineers Basil Mott and David Hay, having worked together since 1888 on the City and South London Railway, entered into partnership under the name Mott & Hay in 1902. Sir David Anderson joined 19 years later.

Their traditions owe much to Mott’s and Hay’s two mentors: JH Greathead is renowned as the foremost soft ground tunneller of the time, while Sir Benjamin Baker is remembered particularly for London’s District Railway and the Forth Railway Bridge.

Old black and white photo showing a station on London underground in the early 1900s
Tunnelling pioneers
Close
Tunnelling pioneers Mott, Hay and Anderson started our tradition for innovation and added value with their pioneering work on London’s underground railway in the early 1900s – their reinforced concrete alternative to expensive cast iron tunnel linings was soon exported worldwide

Sir M MacDonald & Partners - water

Sir Murdoch MacDonald in his capacity as Advisor to Egypt’s Ministry of Public Works, was closely associated with the development and first heightening of the Aswan scheme which marked the start of a long association with hydro electric power development. Sir Murdoch retired from the Egyptian Government Service in June 1921 and returned to Britain where aged 55 years, he immediately entered partnership with Archibald MacCorquodale.

PH East (who had also been an engineer in the Egyptian Government Service from 1907 to 1926) and OL Prowde joined Sir Murdoch MacDonald in a partnership in January 1927, marking the start of a new era. The name of the company was changed to Sir M MacDonald & Partners and major new work started including the second heightening of the Aswan Dam, which continued through the design and construction stages to 1933.

Image showing construction work on first heightening of Aswan Dam
Source of water
Close
Source of water The Aswan Dam and events in Egypt from 1890 to 1930 were a catalyst for the creation of Sir M MacDonald & Partners – laying the foundation for our global business in the water sector.

Ewbank Preece - power and communications

Ewbank Preece joined the Group in 1994 to take our power and telecommunications abilities into a new league. Its pedigree began when Preece Cardew & Rider, electric power and telecommunications specialist, was founded in 1893 by Arthur Henry Preece and later joined by his father Sir William Preece, engineer in chief to the General Post Office, Major Phillip Cardew, electrical advisor to the Board of Trade, and in 1915, by electrical engineer John Hall Rider.

Ewbank & Partners Limited was founded in 1946 by CHP Ewbank and like-minded colleagues from Edmundsons at the time of nationalisation of the UK electricity supply industry.

Both companies merged in 1983 to form Ewbank Preece, one of the UK’s leading specialist consultancies in power generation, transmission and distribution, desalination and telecommunications.

external view of Paka power station with palm fronds in foreground
Milestones in power
Close
Milestones in power Our reputation as one of the foremost consultancies in today’s global energy market is built on leading roles in many of the world’s milestone projects, such as Malaysia’s Paka 900MW combined cycle power station, the largest of its kind outside the USA when completed in the late 1980s.

Hatch Mott MacDonald - North America

To serve North America’s booming transportation market we and Canada’s Hatch Associates established a joint venture company in 1996 called Hatch Mott MacDonald after a long affiliation which first began when we worked together on Toronto’s subway in the 1950s. The new company took over our combined tunnels and transportation operations in North America.

In 2001 Hatch Mott MacDonald acquired Killam Group, one of the leading infrastructure and consulting engineering firms in eastern USA, to broaden our service offering in the water and environmental sectors.

Today Hatch Mott MacDonald provides planning and design services plus project and construction management covering all aspects of transportation, tunnels, water, wastewater and environmental management in the USA, Canada and Mexico.

Over the last decade other companies have joined Hatch Mott MacDonald, providing or reinforcing skills and helping to expand our geographic coverage.

external night view of Grand Central Station in New York
Leading reputation
Close
Leading reputation Hatch Mott MacDonald is one of America’s top engineering firms, demonstrated by our programme manager role on the US$7.3bn East Side Access rail project linking Queens to Manhattan’s Grand Central Terminal for New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority.

Cambridge Education

In 1985 Sir M MacDonald & Partners, in partnership with the University of Cambridge, had formed Cambridge Education Consultants (CEC) with the aim to provide the highest quality education consultancy services in support of educational development world-wide.

For many years CEC had enjoyed close links with Cambridge Education Associates (CEA) collaborating on many projects –increasingly in the UK where CEA was the largest contractor for Ofsted inspections and the leading provider of consultancy and interim management for local education authorities and schools. Marking the start of a new era CEA formally joined the Group in 2000 and our education business is now known as Cambridge Education.

image of schoolgirls conducting science experiment in classroom
Improving standards in London's schools
Close
Improving standards in London's schools In 2002 Cambridge Education took over responsibility for education delivery and improvement of more than 150 facilities in the London Borough of Islington – our approach transformed educational attainment, with results improving faster than national improvement levels.

Dalal Consultants - India

Dalal Consultants joined Mott MacDonald in 2001 to expand our industrial, multi-disciplinary and social sector capabilities in India’s vast market. By this time, Dalal had grown to one of the country’s largest  management and engineering consultancies with 750 staff specialising in infrastructure, industry and social sector development. 

Dalal Consultants had begun operations in Ahmedabad in 1970 providing pre-investment advisory services to private investors in the industrial sector and to government owned industrial development corporations. After 20 strong years Dalal diversified its activities into water resources management, transportation and integrated infrastructure development once markets were opened up to the private sector.

 

artist's impression showing external view of elevated metro station
Infrastructure forte
Close
Infrastructure forte Metros have become one of our major strengths in India – after more than a decade’s ongoing involvement with metro development in Delhi we are now bringing our expertise to metro systems in cities across India – a total of eight by 2013 including Hyderabad (pictured) where we’re detail designers for six stations.

Franklin + Andrews - cost consultancy

In 2002 leading cost consultant Franklin + Andrews joined the Group to enhance our capabilities in management consultancy, project management and commercial management.

Founded in 1866 by surveying and architecture experts Thomas Franklin and John Andrews, the firm is the longest-standing company to join the Mott MacDonald Group. With 650 staff across the UK, Europe, Africa and Asia Pacific, it brought us all aspects of specialist consultancy in contracting strategy, supply chain management, construction cost data, benchmarking, contract advisory services and project finance expertise in the building, transport, utility and energy sectors.

view showing front of train on East London Line
East London landmark
Close
East London landmark Our construction economists Franklin + Andrews first became involved in Transport for London’s East London Line in 1998, its initial cost estimating and risk management role for phase one of the £1bn programme growing substantially to cover full commercial management services as part of TfL’s team.

HLSP - health

Moving into health had long been one of our ambitions which we achieved in 2003 when we were joined by HLSP, an international organisation providing technical assistance, consulting and project management focused on improving world health.

HLSP, established in 1985, works for governments, international agencies and non-government organisations including the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria. Its main areas of expertise include organisational reform and strengthening, sector financing and services planning, costing and delivery, communicable disease control, drugs management programmes, clinical effectiveness and sexual health strategies including responses to HIV and AIDS.

In 2005 we established the HLSP Institute to provide policy analysis, training and applied research with an aim of informing debate on global health issues, national health systems and responses to HIV and AIDS.

view of pharmacist packing medical supplies into boxes
Making a vital difference
Close
Making a vital difference Through managing the technical support unit of the AusAID-funded HIV/AIDS Asia Regional Programme for five years, our specialist health consultancy HLSP helped champion strategies to reduce drug-related disease transmission – just one of many projects showing how we’re working to improve world health.

Euroconsult and BMB - international development

In 2007, after many years of working together, we brought on board international environmental consultant Euroconsult and its management consultancy arm BMB, both formerly part of the ARCADIS Group. This natural progression supported our strategic objectives to grow our environmental market share and strengthen our service offering for international development.

Working primarily in developing countries and economies in transition, the two consultancies brought expertise covering land and water, rural development and ecology, plus management consultancy services specialising in institutional development for the public, private and social sectors.

image of project team member collecting seed from local agricultural worker
Sustainability in action
Close
Sustainability in action Euroconsult Mott MacDonald’s award-winning work to reverse erosion of the Eurasian steppe involved changing land management practices, restoring biodiversity and ecological balance, increasing productivity and providing new sources of employment and income.

Fulcrum Consulting - buildings

Fulcrum Consulting joined Mott MacDonald in 2009 to expand the Group’s building design offering, especially in the area of sustainability.

London-based Fulcrum had won recognition at industry and government levels as one of the UK’s leading providers of sustainable energy solutions for buildings and the built environment. The company is a founding member of the UK Green Buildings Council and has fulfilled a number of high profile advisory roles to the UK government, including seconding several policy analysts specialising in low carbon housing development.

internal view of school communal area
Agenda setting
Close
Agenda setting Fulcrum has pioneered many firsts in low energy solutions – such as its design for Westway Beacons school which incorporated the first UK application of aquifer thermal energy storage

Merz and McLellan - power

South Africa and Botswana power consultancy Merz and McLellan joined in 2010 to help us expand our presence in the African power consultancy market, enabling us to provide a strong combined local and international resource to meet the region’s power infrastructure investment needs over the next 30 years.

Merz and McLellan first came to the region in 1910 and its founders were instrumental in the creation of South Africa’s national electricity supply utility Eskom. Today our Johannesburg and Gaborone based power teams offer engineering services for the transmission and distribution sector, all types of renewables, thermal generation, electrical and mechanical inspection, and nuclear power.    

view of electricity pylon and substation
Powerful presence
Close
Powerful presence Merz and McLellan brought us widely respected credentials in all power engineering disciplines and a long association with South Africa’s electricity industry.

Hughes Trueman, MPM and AWT - Australia and New Zealand

Sydney and Canberra based consultant Hughes Trueman joined in 2010 as part of our strategy to build an Australian base from which to expand across the Australasian region. At the same time we opened offices in Adelaide and Melbourne. Hughes Trueman had been working in south east Australia for over 50 years and brought us 150 staff in four offices across New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory, majoring on civil infrastructure including urban development and public infrastructure (water, sewerage, stormwater, roads) plus buildings and services such as structural, hydraulic and fire design for commercial, industrial, residential and institutional buildings.

Next we added Adelaide-based Mortimer Project Management in 2011 – bringing specialist expertise in property and construction – and opened further offices in Auckland, Brisbane and Perth.  

In 2014 we were joined by specialist water technology and consulting company AWT based in Auckland and Melbourne – adding a strong water capability to our thriving New Zealand business in buildings and transport and strengthening our Australian water expertise, all part of our continuing strategy to broaden the range of services we offer across the Australasian region.

aerial view of Adelaide Cricket Ground
Winning combination
Close
Winning combination Building on the joint strengths of Mortimer Project Management and Hughes Trueman enabled us to win the design management and overall project management for the redevelopment of the world-renowned Adelaide Oval cricket ground.

Mouchel Energy and Procyon - oil and gas

To expand our oil and gas resources and expertise we brought two specialist consultancies into the Group.

Mouchel Energy, specialising in engineering design for the gas and wider energy sector, joined us in 2011 – a move designed to give us a strong base in the UK gas pipeline business to develop and expand as a centre of excellence to benefit clients worldwide.

Procyon Oil & Gas Limited came on board in 2013 to strengthen our ability to provide all phases of upstream oil and gas design, process engineering, construction and operation for clients operating in both offshore and onshore areas. Procyon’s diverse portfolio covers  all project work phases including M&A support, due diligence/independent design reviews, conceptual screening/design, debottlenecking analysis, facilities definition, FEED, detailed design, PMT, project management, cost and schedule estimation, procurement, construction management and operations support.
 

shot of oil rig against sunset
Expert additions
Close
Expert additions Procyon and Mouchel Energy have strengthened our ability to take care of every aspect of oil and gas projects from initial concept to techno-economic studies, front end and detailed design, upgrades and optimisation plans, hazard and risk analysis, procurement, project management and site supervision.

Habtec Engenharia Ambiental - Brazil

Brazilian environmental engineering consultancy Habtec Engenharia Ambiental joined the Group in 2013 as part of our strategy to create a regional base in Brazil from which we can offer the full range of Mott MacDonald’s services and expand across South America.

From its base in Rio de Janeiro, Habtec has operated principally in the energy, mining and transport sectors for over 20 years. Its project portfolio includes various environmental impact studies, compliance support, monitoring projects and environmental education programmes for major clients including international energy giants.

 

image of project team member alongside fishing boat writing down details of catch
Multi-sector environmental services
Close
Multi-sector environmental services Habtec majors in economic sectors ranging from energy production, supply and distribution to transportation and offshore exploration, providing a vast diversity of environmental services, from monitoring fish catch landing sites to environmental due diligence

PD Naidoo & Associates - Sub-Saharan Africa

In 2013 we acquired South African engineering consultancy PD Naidoo & Associates and combined its operations with our Sub-Saharan Africa business to create a multisector practice with 800 people working from 15 centres in South Africa, Botswana and Mozambique.

The culmination of a highly successful working relationship, this move is a key part of our strategy to grow a strong regional business providing multidisciplinary design, implementation and management services in sectors ranging from property and infrastructure, transport and water to industry, mining and communications.

PDNA, established in 1986, had earned a leading reputation for engineering and technology solutions and for its contribution to nationally significant infrastructure development.

image of Nelson Mandela Bridge illuminated at night
National icon
Close
National icon PDNA was a key player in the consulting team that undertook all design for the landmark Nelson Mandela Bridge on the fringes of Johannesburg Central Business District in South Africa
Filter